The ABC of Aganang de-establishment

Local government is a third sphere of government that directly serves communities in districts, metros, cities, towns, rural areas and farm dwellings. This sphere is represented and made up of 278 municipalities across South Africa since 2011.

These municipalities are expected to perform their functions based on five key performance areas – very key being financial viability and basic service delivery. After a vigorous process of assessment, monitoring and evaluation of their performance, the national Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA) took a decision to reduce the number of municipalities to optimise their performance and spread resources to address the needs of communities they serve. The decision affected 21 municipalities and as such, South Africa will after local government elections have 257 municipalities in local government.

The Ministry then issued a section 21 notice of intention to de-establish and amalgamate some municipalities that were found to be lagging behind in terms of delivery and financial viability, among other performance areas. This means that municipalities that were not making money for their sustainability and delivery would be merged. This process would result in reconfigured wards or boundaries.

In Capricorn District, this decision affected Aganang Municipality and the re-determination of boundaries would result in the transfer of its functions and asserts to Molemole, Blouberg and Polokwane. CDM is participating in the reconfiguration process in line with that notice. CDM has thus responded accordingly to the suggested reconfiguration of boundaries and has embraced changes that affect the afore-stated municipalities.

Following the publication of the notice, MEC for Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs issued a government gazette on transitional measures to facilitate the process of de-establishment as set out in the section 22 of the Municipal Demarcation Act.

The implications of de-establishment

The de-establishment of Aganang Municipality means that:

- Aganang currently has 19 wards since 2011 and all of them will be distributed across the existing local municipalities in Capricorn
- 13 of its wards will belong to Polokwane, 2 will go to Molemole and 4 to Blouberg
- This means that villages under Maraba and some under Matlala traditional authorities will be served under Polokwane while some parts of Moletjie will go to Molemole, administratively, not in terms of traditional leadership boundaries
- No traditional authority will 'lose' a village to another Kgoshi
- The district will have a newly-reconfigured map
- Administrative functions will be transferred to Polokwane, Blouberg and Molemole
- Staff will be transferred to Polokwane
- Drafting of a new organisational structure for Polokwane
- Transfer of assets, liabilities and obligations from Aganang
- Realignment of IDP for review and adoption by Polokwane, Blouberg and Molemole councils
- Designation of full-time councillors
- Location of head offices
- Polokwane will after this process have 50 wards, Blouberg will have 25, Molemole 14 and Lepelle Nkumpi will remain with 29 wards.
- Capricorn will then have 118 wards in total

- Capricorn District will henceforth have four local municipalities after the de-establishment of Aganang.
- Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipality is not affected by the de-establishment or the redetermination.

It must be noted that this realignment of boundaries is to ensure effective coordination and provisioning of services by government to communities.

Further that, such changes do not suggest that people will be moved to another area. It only means administrative services will be handled at another area and the existing administrative municipal infrastructure will still be utilised. These re-determined boundaries will take effect from after 2016 local government elections.

Establishment & Role of Change Management Committee

To drive this process, Change Management Committee and its subcommittees were established. The Committee has a task to make recommendations on the above-stated implications.

We therefore thank the communities for their cooperation with the Municipal Demarcation Board at the consultative sessions.

The Role of Municipal Political Change Management Committee

This committee acts as a consultative and advisory forum for the CoGHSTA MEC regarding the incorporation of Aganang into Polokwane, Blouberg and Molemole. It is headed by the District Executive Mayor Cllr Gilbert Kganyago, supported by mayors of affected local municipalities and the Speaker of the District Council as well the speakers of affected local municipalities and members of Executive Committee and traditional leaders and SALGA.

The role of traditional leadership in this Committee is important in that they need to be kept abreast of the developments and the incorporation process so they can share such with their communities from a point of strength and knowledge. Its role is to provide political leadership to the process; grant approvals; adopt the adoption of the implementation plan; assist with dissemination of information to the public and business; and attend to any related matter.

The role of Sub-Committees

There are project-focused subcommittees that support the above Committees and assist in the implementation of the plan.

These include **HR** Sub-committee that will facilitate the transfer of staff from Aganang to the three municipalities. The sub-committee works closely with labour unions to draft the new organisational structure that is inclusive of staff from Aganang, facilitate placement in line with their background, professions, qualifications and expertise and smooth integration of personnel. The sub-committee will also take them through induction and explain to them the implications of salaries and benefits in the new organisation.

There's also a sub-committee on **communications**. This subcommittee provides support to the technical committee and imparts information about the de-establishment of Aganang and the implementation of the incorporation. This sub-committee is coordinated by communication sections of the district and affected local municipalities, SALGA as well as representative of CoGHSTA. The sub-committee has developed a communication strategy that outlines communication activities and guide communication plan. Through this strategy, the sub-committee provides communication advisory work to the Political Change Management Committee as well as the Technical Change Committee. It was established to ensure that the public in affected communities know what de-establishment means and how

it will affect service delivery in their areas. This is done through on-going news, announcements through road shows, speeches, news on radio, print, website, pamphlets and social media platforms.

There is also a sub-committee on **legal matters** that deals with rationalisation of by-laws, policies & contractual obligations. There is also a finance sub-committee that deals with rationalisation of billing systems, rates, asserts, budget etc. This means that Aganang will not be making any financial commitments for the 2016/17 financial year to allow the process to be less complex.

There is also an **IDP** sub-committee that develops new IDP process plans for discussion and alignment.